Image Inspiration

This week in class we looked at how emotions can inform how we feel about visual stimuli and how we are able to use descriptive works to evoke STYLE + AESTHETIC.

It is so important that this year, our major works are evocative of our individual hand writing and that the viewer sees what it is about my individuality that will express who I am and what my major work is saying.

In class, we went through a series of images and attached descriptive words to the image to explain how we felt about them. I found this activity to be really useful in conjuring up my own thoughts about various images and how I could then source images which were of direct inspiration to me and do the same.

Below are a few images that I find particularly inspiring to me, my concept and my style and aesthetic. Under each image, I have listed a handful of words, which I feel accurately describe the image and how the image makes me FEEL.

Through these images which represent what I am interested in and my style and aesthetic, I will be formulating a list of words, which I feel speak true to my concept. Task 1 is to develop 5 words which accurately describe my style and highlight one main word which is indicative of the feeling I am to create. From these words and the images which inspire them, I will construct a mood board which will help to convey the feeling of these words, desire and emotion.

Feel free to comment on the post and add to the collection of brainstorming words for the images!

Artist: Bart Hess

mysterious

enveloping

concealed

obscure

outstretched

entangled

mysterious

trapped

seductive

unusual

unconventional

Photographer: Helmut Newton

Alluring

Tempting

Provocative

Seductive

Threatening

Inviting

Enchanting

Engaging

Enticing

 

Photographer: Edward Weston

Fluctuating

Precarious

Volatile

Alluring

Angelic

Stunning

Entrancing

Engaging

Luscious

Enveloping

Inspiring

Natural

Artist: La Poupée by Hans Bellmer 

dark

artificial

sinister

ominous

grungy

obscure

savage

strange

human-like

damaged

Artist: Hans Bellmer

hostile

scared

modified

trapped

protected

repulsed

Gross

Uneasy

Dark

Scary

Sickly

Mutation

hybrid

Photographer: Juergen Teller

alarming

hair raising

chilling

creppy

unnerving

intimidating

eerie

mysterious

unknowing

hidden

perplexing

puzzling

secretive

ambiguous

bare

negative

open

inviting

eerie

lonely

enticing

provoking

tempting

Artist: Hans Bellmer

Deformed

mutilated

scarred

hysteria

exposed

warped

malformed

twisted

bizarre

organic

disjointed

uneven

cancerous

SLIME ART by BART HESS

grungy

slimy

edgy

sexualized

intriguing

enthralling

captivating

ink

ocean

♥ Bec

X

Leave a Reply

