Branding and Aesthetic

When I was researching for Assessment Task 2: Professional Practice, it became evident that every designer, brand and company has its own style and aesthetic which is then shown to the customer in various ways. When I was profiling the 6 emerging designers, it was interesting to note their differing style aesthetics which were prominent throughout each of their individual collections. Though their inspirations changed for each season, their brand aesthetic and narrative remained the same as the foundation upon which the ethos of the brand is built.

AESTHETIC: EDGY CONTEMPORARY

Christopher Esber Spring Summer 2010
Source: http://www.christopheresber.com.au/

AESTHETIC: DECONSTRUCTED WITH ELEMENTS OF EXQUISITE FEMININITY AND MINIMALISTIC BEAUTY

Lui Hon Estherian Collection
Source: http://luihon.com.au/

AESTHETIC: ENCAPSULATES THE JOY IN FASHION, CHALLENGING CONVENTIONS OF THE TRADITIONAL MASCULINE AND FEMININE FORMS

Limedrop AW12 Collection The Adventure
Source: http://www.limedrop.com.au/pages/aw12-the-adventure-collection

AESTHETIC: INFLUENCED BY THE ROCKABILITY SUBCULTURE, ‘SIMPLISTIC THROWN TOGETHER STYLE’ (Friend of Mine 2012)

Friend of Mine – The Charmers Collection
Source: http://www.madebyafriendofmine.com.au/shop/index.php

AESTHETIC: CENTERED AROUND THE BASICS WITH A TWIST


Above. Label AW 2012 – A Study in Collaging Structures
Source:  http://www.abovelabel.com/2012/03/a-study-in-collaging-structures/

AESTHETIC: ‘PARED-BACK’ INTERTWINED WITH A ‘FUNCTIONAL, CLEAN AND STRUCTURAL’ LOOK

Magdalena Velevska Spring Summer 2012/13 Collection
Source: http://www.penylane.com/archives/10863/cover-mag

In class this week, we looked at the importance of a strong CV, portfolio and overall brand aesthetic. For Assessment 3, we will be asked to present a mini-folio presenting a compilation of works which best highlight our abilities in our fields of expertise. For me, I want my portfolio to really highlight my strong point of differentiation which are my fashion journalism and writing skills intertwined with my innovative styling work, my digital capabilities in Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign, as well as my fashion design, illustration and drawing techniques which will showcase my skills in a variety of areas.

Here’s a little flashback of my Dress, Body Couture dress which was photographed in a shoot. I might just include some of this…

Photography: by Jennifer Chua
Model: Adele Thiel
Designer: Rebecca Glaser

Whatever I choose to include will be presented in line with my individual design and brand aesthetic so as to create cohesion and a definitive idea of what I have to offer.

♥ Bec

X

Leave a Reply

